Under no circumstances should you ever try an iced black cherry latte with skim milk. I made that mistake today and I fully regret it.

So why did I order it? I ordered it because it had two things I enjoy very much independently: black cherry and iced latte. I figured putting them together couldn’t be that bad. I was wrong.

Now you may be wondering where I am going with this and the truth is I am not really going anywhere with this, I just figured I would put a semi-comically story at the front end of the post to grab your interest. And if you’re still reading then I have succeeded.

I will assure you that UNITY 2012 will not be an iced black cherry latte. I know there are some young adults out there who are hedging about coming to UNITY 2012, fearing that the intriguing possibility (i.e. black cherry and latte together) carries with it too much risk for letdown, much like my latte did.

Well, to be quite frank, it’s just not possible for UNITY 2012 be a letdown. That’s because we’re not mixing good things together and trying it for the first time; this will be the 5th UNITY and tradition of success has been created and is being built upon.

Additionally, getting together as a group to examine, practice, develop and live out our faith is hardly a new idea – our religious forefathers have been gathering as faith communities for centuries. The community that gathers may be different, ours being thinly spread across a vast nation, but the core principles and ideals remain the same.

So come to UNITY 2012. Register now. No black cherry lattes. I promise.

Please comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts as UNITY 2012 comes closer.

 

Andrew

 

 

Andrew’s Thoughts for Thursday

(an opinion piece put out on Thursdays, time permitting)

July 28 – Acronym of UNITY

August 4 – Bridging the Gap

August 11 – Choices

August 17 – Towards the Tangible

August 25 – “The Spirit of ’96”

September 1 – Welcoming Back the WYD Pilgrims

 

September 8 – Coming to you from the Twin Cities

Andrew’s On the Road(show)

(Recaps and thoughts after parish tours)

Introduction – Tuesday July 26, 2011: UNITY!?!?

